Review: Tarnished Are the Stars by Rosiee Thor

You have probably figured out by now that I will read almost anything for good asexual rep, but when it’s science fiction that is this beautifully crafted? Tarnished Are the Stars had me constantly hunting for more time to listen to it.

The Lunar Chronicles meets Rook in this queer #OwnVoices science-fantasy novel, perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Sharon Cameron.

Tarnished Are the Stars CoverA secret beats inside Anna Thatcher’s chest: an illegal clockwork heart. Anna works cog by cog — donning the moniker Technician — to supply black market medical technology to the sick and injured, against the Commissioner’s tyrannical laws.

Nathaniel Fremont, the Commissioner’s son, has never had to fear the law. Determined to earn his father’s respect, Nathaniel sets out to capture the Technician. But the more he learns about the outlaw, the more he questions whether his father’s elusive affection is worth chasing at all.

Their game of cat and mouse takes an abrupt turn when Eliza, a skilled assassin and spy, arrives. Her mission is to learn the Commissioner’s secrets at any cost — even if it means betraying her own heart.

When these uneasy allies discover the most dangerous secret of all, they must work together despite their differences and put an end to a deadly epidemic — before the Commissioner ends them first. (Goodreads) Goodreads

Rosiee Thor and I are mutuals on Twitter. This is still an honest review of Tarnished Are The Stars.

Tarnished Are The Stars needs trigger warnings for neglect, physical and emotional abuse, parental death (on and off-page), child death and discussion of surgery.

It had an aesthetic to die for but this book really came through for me. All three of the main characters in this blew my mind. Anna is all hard edges, Nathaniel is all squishy emotions, and Eliza is the perfect combination of both. All of them are longing for someone to accept them and to love them, and to be able to take their place in the world. Together, they are all able to do that and change the world for the better in the way that only they could.

I loved the way that this book dealt with the history of “Former Earth” and the issues that have to come with any sort of terraforming. The way Thor dealt with the science and the health ramifications was amazing. I can’t talk about it much because it would be very spoiler-y, but you don’t want to miss it.

In case you couldn’t tell, I loved this story in all its facets. You can pick up a copy for yourself from Indiebound, Amazon or The Book Depository through our affiliate links.

 

ABOUT TARNISHED ARE THE STARS

Title: Tarnished Are the Stars

Author: Rosiee Thor

Publisher: Scholastic Press

Length: 384 Pages

Release Date: October 15, 2019

Rating: Highly Recommended

Genre: Young Adult Science Fiction

Representation: Aromantic Asexual main character, sapphic main character, aromantic asexual author

 

Want to help support Let’s Fox About It and help it go ad-free? Subscribe to our Patreon!

Disclaimer: All links to Indiebound, The Book Depository, The Ripped Bodice and Amazon are affiliate links. If you buy through those links, LFAI will make a small amount of money off of the sale.